Longest Race to date!

In the past 6 weeks, I have conquered my fear of heights at a Spartan Sprint, tested my trail feet on the Lost Dutchman 8k trail, completed my first 10K and started training for a triathlon sprint.

Lately, many of my races have forced me to face my fears and push myself beyond any point I ever dreamed of.  Today, I felt it even more so.

Several months ago, a friend of mine encouraged me to sign up for the Kiss Me I’m Irish 17K race.  I figured I had plenty of time to train, and in December when I registered, 4 months felt like an eternity.

I slowly have been increasing my mileage and cross-training to prevent injury and increase muscle.  2 weeks ago I ran my longest distance of 6.2 miles, and today I ran 10.64.

Many times throughout the race I felt drained, exhausted and in pain.  But, I somehow found the strength to push through the pain from running in new shoes, and lack of previous mileage.  Somehow, I was able to reach inside and pull out more.

I didn’t finish first, or even close to first.  I actually finished towards the back of the pack.  It was the best feeling ever.  I had nothing left for the last tenth of a mile.  I put my head down and counted 1,2,3,4.  Then, I counted again and again and before I knew it, I had sprinted over the finish line.

I did it.  I can’t believe I did it.  And now, I’m already searching for the right half marathon so I can push myself farther.

I am learning so much about myself with each and every race.  I don’t know why I waited so long to start running, but I am thankful that I now have running in my life.

Check out my full race review at: http://www.bibrave.com/races/kiss-me-i-m-irish-run

This entry was posted in PR, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

