Went Clipless and I am in Love!

Being completely out of money and facing the hardship of summer, was made all the better by a dear friend from my running group.  She upgraded her pedals and bike shoes, and gave me her old set.  This means I am now clipless for the first time.

I practiced clipping in and out in my living room, using the back of the couch to keep me stable.  After a few minutes, I felt fairly comfortable with the motion and decided to try clipping in while riding in my living room.

The problem with this method was that I didn’t have enough room to actually start pedaling and clip in without the bike toppling over on me.  My 11 year old son gave me a small pep talk, and on went the helmets and outside we went.

I was able to clip in on the first try, and took a short lap around the neighborhood.  Then, we hit a stop sign and I was able to very easily clip out my landing foot.  I did not fall or feel stuck at all.  In fact, I felt the exact opposite!

I felt strong, efficient and more in sync with my bike.  My clipless pedals make me feel like I am flying!  I really can’t wait to get some actual mileage on my bike later this week.

Now, I am pumped and confident and have to go get ready for swim time with my training buds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Went Clipless and I am in Love!

  1. Olivia S says:

    Way to go! I need to make the jump to clueless, too! 🙂

  2. bribikes says:

    That’s awesome! I just went clipless a few weeks ago and fell in my first few times around the driveway. So for me it was scary for a bit, but I clip out without even thinking now 🙂
    I love the fact that I can pedal with one leg, hehe. I find it quite fun!

Leave a Reply

