Motigo App Review

“Disclaimer: I received the Motigo App to review as part of being a BibRave Pro.” Learn more about becoming a BibRavePro Ambassador, and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

Motigo is an iPhone app that allows runners to receive cheers from friends and family mid-race.  I was given the opportunity to test the app, and I have to say it is a great concept!  Basically, users create an account and submit races that they will be running in.  Other users, can then search for a specific runner or view a certain race, and leave cheers that play at a selected mile during the race.

It was extremely easy to establish an account, and equally as easy to navigate through the app and search for different races or runners.  After you locate the race/runner you would like to cheer for, you simply record the cheer and select the mile you would like the runner to hear it.

From a cheering aspect, it is very easy to record a cheer and listen to it before sending.  If you don’t like the way the cheer sounds, no problem!  Simply re-record the cheer, and send when you are happy with the way it sounds.  Cheers do cost a minimal fee to send, but can be purchased in cheer bundles to save as well.

From a runner’s perspective, Motigo is amazing!  First, I was able to select the races that I was going to be running in.  A few of my races were not listed, and all I had to do was send a quick email with the race information, and within 24 hours I not only received a personal email from Motigo staff, but also saw that my races had been added to the app. On race day, I simply had to start the app and start my race.

The Motigo app allows users to link to downloaded music on the device, but it also allows additional music players to be activated.  For example, I ran Pandora while running one of my races, and received all of my cheers, loud and clear!

So, you now may be thinking, “What if headphones aren’t allowed during my race?”  This happened to me in three different races.  But, it was okay because when I finished my race and pulled out my phone, I was able to listen to the cheers that had been sent.

It is an indescribable feeling to be able to hear the voice of your loved ones cheering you on at some of the hardest points during a race.  It is also a wonderful feeling to be able to support your friends and running buddies in the same way.

Overall, I really love the Motigo app!  I look forward to seeing how Motigo evolves over time, and hope that someday it can be used during training runs (I know that I will be in need of some serious cheering when I hit the long runs in marathon training), in addition to races.

I would also like to see an option for unlimited cheers with a monthly registration fee.  Another idea, would be for runners to pay a registration fee, so that cheers could be sent free of charge.

Motigo is definitely an up and coming app to keep an eye on!  Want to experience Motigo first hand?  Join Motigo and Nuun (a hydration company), for a virtual run to celebrate National Run Day.

motigo nuun run

Join me in this free virtual run, between June 3rd through June 7th, by running at least a 5K from wherever you are.  During your run, you will receive a few surprise messages recorded by some special guests.  Need another reason to check it out?  There will also be an in-run sweepstakes!  Learn more by clicking HERE.  Be sure to set up your free Motigo account so you don’t miss out on the fun!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motigo App Review

  1. Pingback: Angie Runs | Motigo Review

Leave a Reply

