Sin City Shootout Double Your Luck Challenge

 

Sin City

Sin City without the gambling, smoke and alcohol?  That’s my kind of Vegas!

Disclaimer: I received a I received a free entry to Sin City Shootout Double Your Luck Challenge as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

Most people head to Vegas for drinking, gambling and overall mischief.  For me, Vegas is more than just the strip, but rather a huge city stuck in the middle of a beauty background.  I spend the majority of my time training and running, running and training, which means I end up not being much of a drinker.  This event was just up my alley!

The Sin City Shootout weekend is a great event that features a large variety of different sporting events all centered in the Vegas area.  This specific event, included a 5k run, followed by a 10K run just off the strip at Sunset Park.

I wish I had stopped to take more pictures, instead of pushing through the 10K (for a PR and first place age group finish), because it was really a beautiful run filled with nature.  In the background were snow capped mountains, along with bunnies and black tailed Jack Rabbits hopping along the path.  This park provides respite from the bustle of the strip, and provides a great running area.

SUPER PROS:  The race was in a beautiful area, with a great amount of course support and photography.  The Friday night packet pickup sounded like a blast, with raffles and giveaways. Packet pickup morning of was smooth and quick. The park itself was only a few minutes from the strip via car.

Things to improve for next year: It would be helpful to add signage at the park entries to make locating the start line easier.  Also, highly recommend setting up a shuttle from the strip to the park, as the taxi option was a bit on the costly side.

Sin City 3

I absolutely love both medals, super nice quality and awesome design!  I am still waiting for both my participant shirt along with my age group award, as they were to be sent through the mail. But, I had such a blast running this race and I look forward to next year!  Another awesome plus, is that I was able to find a great place to run when I am visiting my close friend that lives just up the street!

 

This entry was posted in BibRavePro, destination race, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

