How far is too far?

Running is a sport full of extremes.  Some people are capable of managing these extremes, so that they remain manageable.  Others, keep pushing the limits to see how far one can really go.

When I cross a finish line, I feel lots of emotions.  A few minutes after, I start to evaluate the race and ask myself questions.  Did I push hard enough?  Could I have run longer?  Several other questions will tumble around in my head in the days following a race as well.

After finishing my Spartan Beast race in Temecula, I thought, “That was the hardest thing I have ever done.  I wonder what else I can do?”  I felt the same way running my marathon.  It was the most insanely difficult task I had ever completed, yet I still feel the desire to see how much farther I can go.

Here starts my official ultramarathon training.  I am registered for a 50 mile race in November, and cannot wait to add more trail runs back!  I absolutely love trail running and can’t wait to see how many times I will experience emotional ups and downs while trying to finish.  Will 50 miles be too far?  Probably not, but I am sure it will feel like it.  Many times.

To make things more interesting, I have adopted a plant-based diet experimentally to see how it effects my performance and recovery. With 3 weeks of plant-based eating down, I am already feeling more energy and better recovery after long runs. I a still determining whether the change will be long term or temporary, but the experiment shall continue as of now!

How far is too far?  I have no idea?  What is the longest distance you can imagine running?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How far is too far?

  1. Megan Colón says:

    Um…. 18 miles, with you, lol. More?? TBD…

  2. janerunswild says:

    Check out no meat athlete as a reference! Those guys eat a plant-based diet and have run ultras. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

