Eating to Run, Eating to Live

Never in my life did I ever think I would be at this point.  I am about to start some heavy training as I get ready for my first 50 mile race.  I am in the best shape of my adult life, and getting healthier every day.  I love myself, and am not looking to lose weight, but rather get healthier and more efficient.

For the past 30 days, I have been eating plant-based whole foods (well mostly whole).  I can’t believe the differences I am seeing and feeling.  It’s remarkable.  Especially since I could never have imagined life without cheese and yogurt.  But, I don’t even miss them!

I am learning more and more tips and tricks for healthy eating and more importantly, how to eat a plant-based diet successfully. For example, did you know that you can sauté vegetables in any liquid, not just oil or butter? All these years, and I had no idea!

One great resource for me has been the No Meat Athlete blog and podcast.  The podcast has been great, as I can listen to it while commuting and it’s always informative.  I’ve also been lucky to tap into a wealth of knowledge from my many friends who already do not eat animal products.

I also found a super amazing app called Yummly, which is a great tool for anyone who cooks.  The app allows you to filter recipes based on food preferences, including a vegan option.  I have found some delicious and family approved vegan recipes on there, and definitely added some variety to the meal plans.

Tonight, we had Vegan (Quinoa) Mac N Cheese, with some Shiitake Bacon on the side. There is no limit to the delicious combinations that can be made.

I also learned about tempeh, which has become my egg scramble replacement for my big post long-run breakfast.  I water sauté zucchini, bell peppers, onions, and any other left over veggies, along with a 1/3 of a brick of tempeh diced.  Heat until warm all the way through, remove from heat and add avocado.  Perfect protein-packed recovery breakfast!

I am still not sure if this will be a life-long diet change, but if I keep feeling so great I think it just may be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

