Vegan Camping?

A few weeks ago, we went camping during spring break.  Well, really we had signed up for a half-marathon in Monument Valley, Utah, and decided to make a vacation of it.  So, we packed up the car and headed out for a camping adventure.

While preparing to leave, several people had asked me “What will you eat while camping?”  Thankfully, these inquiries provided extra time for me to really think about it and figure it out because I really had no idea what I was going to eat while camping.

Here are some tips for vegan camping:

  1. Keep it simple:  I packed cans of beans and pre-cooked rice packets, mixed them together, heat over the fire, and voila!  I also brought a large number of larabars, just in case they were needed.
  2. Fresh is best: Stock up on fresh fruits and veggies.  I brought apples and oranges, as well as some plums.  I also brought zucchini, snap peas, and avocados.
  3. Think ahead:  So, there are some foods that many people simply pair with camping.  These include hot dogs and smores.  If you think you will want these items, bring a substitute.  For example, I brought some pea-protein replacement hot dogs.  I was also able to find graham crackers without milk in them, and dark chocolate that was vegan friendly.  I was able to find some online vendors that sell gelatin-free marshmallows, but I didn’t feel like I needed them.  If you are interested in purchasing vegan marshmallows, they are available here.
  4. Bring a cooler:  In my cooler, I was able to keep a carton of almond milk.  I used that to make my morning oatmeal, with some chia seeds tossed in.  I was also able to keep some cold-pressed juices on hand along with some pre-cut fruits and veggies.
  5. PB&J:  When all else fails, it’s peanut butter jelly time!  I brought a loaf of bread, gelatin free jelly, and a huge jar of peanut butter.  Any time I needed an extra snack or meal, I was taken care of.
  6. Restaurant Options:  There were a few times where the group we were camping with went to eat out at a local restaurant.  Luckily, at each place we visited, I was able to find a vegetarian option that could be ordered to be vegan by leaving off cheese, sour cream, etc.

All in all, camping without animal products was not as difficult as I had anticipated.  5 days of camping, and I was solidly covered food wise the entire trip. To read more about the actual running part of the trip, read my review on BibRave here.

What do you do to keep on track while on vacation or traveling?

This entry was posted in camping, meatless monday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

