Anti-Inflammation Smoothie

The more I research food, the more I begin to eliminate.  I am currently attempting to move away from pain relieving medications, such as ibuprofen.  Many whole foods possess inflammation reducing properties, and for me, it made sense to mix them all together in a smoothie.

I drink this same smoothie daily, and no longer need to take ibuprofen for pain, as my joints are no longer super sore or aching.

Smoothie

Here’s what my anti-inflammation smoothie looks like:

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1-2 teaspoons fresh ginger root
  • 1-2 teaspoons turmeric root
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons of tart cherry juice concentrate
  • unsweetened vanilla almond milk (to taste/consistency)

I dump everything into my food processor/blender, and liquefy. This is the base for my smoothie, though I will add a variety of other greens or fruits, based on what I have on hand.

If you are trying to increase good fats or add extra protein, you can add raw pumpkin and/or sunflower seeds, or a variety of other nuts.  I typically try to keep this smoothie focused on anti-inflammatory foods, without adding extra protein or fats.  However, after an intense workout, I will add some of these extra goodies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anti-Inflammation Smoothie

  1. B.J. says:

    Very close. I often use kale. Haven’t tried Cherry yet.

    • misslaurelc says:

      I typically use a green blend of kale, spinach, and chard. I only add cherry after workouts, and it’s amazing for recovery. I’ve stopped using ibuprofen completely at this point.

  2. Pingback: To Prep or Not to Prep: Easy Vegan Eating | Running to Happiness

Leave a Reply

