Meatless Monday: Almond Cheese Rocks My World!

So, it’s that day of the week again!  I have been trying to keep the vegan chatter to one day per week, to keep from being unbearable.  While I am meatless everyday, the blog shall be meatless on Mondays.

We are now 3 months into the whole food plant based journey, and the kids are really starting to warm up to different meal options.  We have moved past the point of, “Hey, where’s the meat?” and are now exploring the amazing animal free products available.

This week I found my new love.  ALMOND CHEESE.  Drops the mic.

Tonight, we planned to have taco bowls.  This includes tortilla’s baked into perfect bowls, black beans, short grain brown rice, avocado, tomatoes, onion, salsa…topped to perfection with Jalapeno almond cheese.  Super easy meal- I soaked the beans over night and cooked them in the crockpot while I was at work.  When I came home, I tossed some rice on the stove and prepped the other items which needed to be chopped.

I was even able to sit down for about 20 minutes or so, while the rice finished cooking.  I am really in awe of this magical almond cheese, and while it is a bit pricey, don’t know how I have been settling for Daiya cheese.

Now, don’t get me wrong…Daiya has been very good to me, and even allows me to eat pizza from time to time.  But, I think I have graduated to almond cheese for future meal endeavors.

I am almost giddy to use it later in the week for black bean quesadillas!

(Photo Credit: theyummylife.com)

This entry was posted in meatless monday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

