Transformation Tuesday: Update

It’s been a long time since I started my journey to a healthy, fit life.  When I started, it was out of sheer frustration…I was tired of being overweight and still young.  Looking back at my 20’s, I realized that during the time where I should have been in the best shape of my life, I was in the worst.  I was topping the scales at 230 pounds.

As I started becoming more and more active, I lost about 20 pounds that I was able to keep off for several years. I was inconsistent (at best) with exercise and had no idea what healthy eating really meant.

I joined a supplement and shake company (which shall remain nameless), and began learning more about health and nutrition.  I realized that the products were not necessarily the healthiest options available.  The more I researched nutrition, the less I wanted to be involved with this MLM company.

I made the decision to become active.  I started to seek out any opportunity I could to be active, while I was enjoying myself.  That started a chain reaction, which is still going to this day.

I have definitely lost weight, but I have gained much more than I have lost…and I don’t mean pounds.  I have gained self-respect, confidence, inner peace, and honestly, happiness!  Yes, by the name of the blog, I was running to happiness.  I feel I am now running with happiness.  I am no longer worried about the number on the scale, and that is a very free feeling.

Here is a before and now picture…The before is when I started to incorporate exercise into my daily life and the now is from last week at the gym.  I am still progressing towards my goals, and plan to keep reaching for the stars.  But, here’s a little Transformation Tuesday photo to see the physical journey thus far.


 

This entry was posted in Transformation Tuesday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Transformation Tuesday: Update

  1. Olivia S says:

    Great job Laurel!! You are on such an inspiring journey.

  2. Aimee says:

    I love your story. It’s really inspiring to read about people who do the hard work and achieve their goals. You look amazing, but your smile says it all. Awesome job!

  3. Congrats on your progress! It takes a lot to decide to better yourself and a lot more to stick to it! If you ever need advice from an nsca certified personal trainer/competitive athlete/and Co-founder of Powerhouse Aesthetics, feel free to check out my blog/YouTube channel or contact me 🙂

Leave a Reply

