Recap: Big Pine 13k


Sorry for the week of silence!  It’s been hectic with working, traveling for races, and finishing up my M.Ed program (YAY!).  This week sort of slipped away from me, as I just got back from a relaxing weekend in Flagstaff, and am leaving today for Orange County, CA.

Let’s start with the weekend race recap.  I absolutely love Flagstaff and my MRTT friends!  We stayed in a beautiful converted townhome, with tons of space and a hot tub on the back porch.  We ran, we relaxed, we ate, and had a fabulous and completely stress free weekend.


The race itself was well run (as all Aravaipa races are) and ran on time.  We started at 8am, and the first mile or so was uphill.  The rest of the course was a decent mix of ups and downs, but in all honestly, that did not matter to me.  I was so incredibly happy to be running with dirt beneath my feet, greenery around me and pine trees instead of cacti.

There were so many different vegetarian and vegan options for food downtown, and I ate SO MUCH.  And then, I ate MORE.


It was so refreshing to be in cooler temperatures (60-75 degrees versus 100+), to be surrounded with green and trees, and to spend time with such wonderful people.  I can’t wait to go back again…It was extremely difficult to leave the perfect whether and scenario to return to summer in the Phoenix area.  Now, I am thinking of planning my long runs more up north to get some cooler temperatures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weekly Recap and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

