Changing My Life

If I want my life to change, I will need to change what I am doing.  This is not rocket science.  Life is short, and I want to spend my time exploring the world and all it has to offer.  I do not want to spend my life working tirelessly, waiting for the day I can start to live.  So, what am I going to change?

I have absolutely no idea.

When I was young I wanted to be two things, a professional writer that was able to travel the world, reporting on things of my choice and to be a photographer for National Geographic Magazine, traveling the world to capture images that will move people from inside the yellow magazine covers.

What am I doing now? Something that is very fulfilling and makes a difference, but it is not supporting my dreams of traveling the world and sharing the magic I find with the rest of the world.

So, here I am, Sunday evening, getting ready to prep my meals for the week.  About to wash my laundry for another Monday through Friday routine.  Hiding from my dreams.  Today, I took the first step in the direction I want to go.  I submitted a story to an eBook collection, that will include myself and a handful of other runners.  I am also committing to daily writing for my first official book.

Thinking back through the years, I am remembering when I was a sophomore in high school.  I spent my time in class writing a novel in spiral bound notebooks, which several of my classmates took turns reading.  I thought I would be a published author by now.  I thought I would be able to travel the country and world, sharing my books with others.  So, maybe that is what I should be doing.

I am giving myself 1 full year from today to complete a manuscript, and to have it accepted for publication somewhere.  I am committing to spend at least 30 minutes each day writing as well, for better or worse. Right now, I am entering the deadline date in my phone for 8/21/17.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Life Changes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Changing My Life

  1. Good for you! How old will you be when you fulfill your dream? The same age you will be if you don’t. Stay the course and you will see results 🙂

  2. Good luck! I have no doubt that with consistency and perseverance you will reach your goal. Keep on writing!

  3. Megan says:

    You have this#

Leave a Reply

