Shake it like it’s hot – Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix Review

Disclaimer: I received samples of Everlast VP Vegan Protein Powder to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find and write race reviews!

If you have not heard, Everlast has branched out to create nutritional products for athletes.  Their products include Everlast FUEL Performance Drink Mix, Everlast BURN Metabolism and Energy Boost, Everlast LEAN Weight Management System for Women, and last but not least, Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix, which I was able to try out for a few days.

Try it yourself by using the code RUNHAPPY when ordering!

The Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix was immediately more appealing than many protein products on the market, as all 7 ingredients were clearly labeled and easily identified (Pea Protein, Carrageenan, Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Rice Protein, Hemp Protein, and Stevia).  While the amount of unnecessary and dangerous chemicals is much lower in the Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix, I would feel a lot better if carrageenan was not an included ingredient, as this is an additive that I actively avoid.

everlast nutrition facts

I also like the way the different amino acids were listed on the nutrition facts.  This is important information for people to be able to access, especially as there are some amino acids certain people avoid or require extra of for health reasons.

As of today, there is one flavor option, vanilla.  For me, I have to add or mix in other things to make a vanilla shake palatable (but this goes for any vanilla shake mix).  The taste itself is not unpleasant, but the consistency is quite a bit thicker than I like, when mixed with 8 ounces of liquid.  The package directions do state that it should be mixed with 8-12 ounces of liquid, and when I added the extra 4 ounces, I found the consistency to be much more appealing.

With 22 grams of protein, I am an overall fan of Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix.  I typically look for a low number of natural ingredients, high amount of protein, between 100-150 calories per serving, and a low amount of fat content.  Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix definitely meets my requirements for a solid recovery product.

One important thing for vegan/food sensitive users to note, is that the according to the packaging, “This product is made or packaged in the same facility as products that contain milk, eggs, wheat and soy.”  While this does not mean the product is not vegan, it is something that should be kept in mind if concerned with potential cross-contamination.

My favorite way to include Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix for recovery was to add the powder to my energy bar recipe.

everlast protein bars

My go to recipe for energy bars, is a simple and easy no-bake combo of whole foods.  Here it is:

Laurel’s Energy Bars

1 Cup of Almond Butter

1 Cup of local honey

2 cups of organic quick cooking oats

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup of ground flaxseed meal

Directions: In a saucepan, over medium heat, combine almond butter and honey and stir until combined.  Remove the pan from the heat.  Add oats, flaxseed, cocoa.  Mix until well blended.   Flatten mixture in a large pan and put in the refrigerator.  These can be stored in the refrigerator for up to one week.

Helpful tips:  To add the protein powder, I added 4 scoops of Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix when adding the other dry ingredients.  You can mix up the recipe by adding dried fruit, coconut flakes, nuts, seeds, etc.  The possibilities are nearly endless!  I could not taste the Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix when it was added to the bars, but love having extra protein in them!

I have tried several other vegan protein shakes.  Many of them are very chalky tasting.  Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix does not have the chalky/medicine taste of some shakes.  However, I still can’t stand the playdough-taste of ANY and ALL vanilla flavored products, so I would be super interested in a chocolate flavored version, and one that uses a natural cocoa versus chemical chocolate flavoring would be even better!

For me, the Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix would be the perfect go-to shake if the flavor was chocolate, the carrageenan was removed, and the included ingredients were organic.  But, it is definitely a much better option than the chemical-laden protein shakes that are so readily available. I am always excited when most of the ingredients are familiar, whole food options. If you are a fan of vanilla, I highly recommend giving this shake a try!

Check out more reviews from my fellow BibRave Pros: Heather KimAllison – Laura – Angie – Elizabeth – Rachel – Brie

What is your favorite protein shake? Share in the comments.

This entry was posted in protein, recovery, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shake it like it’s hot – Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix Review

  1. Pingback: Angie Runs | Everlast Vegan Protein Powder – Review

  2. Pingback: Everlast Vegan Protein | Train With Bain

  3. Bain says:

    I’ve got to try this recipe for no-bake energy bars. Have you tried it with the fancy nut butters (like Wild Friends, etc.)?

    • misslaurelc says:

      I use fresh almond butter, where the only ingredient is almonds. You can use any nut butter though. I’ve used several different styles and different types. I’ve tried a sunflower butter also.

  4. Pingback: Product Review: Everlast Vegan Protein | Darlin' Rae

  5. Pingback: Everlast VP Pro Vegan Protein Mix – Brie

  6. UntuckedLuxe says:

    Check out ID Life Protein #organic #glutenfree #caseinfree #nonGMO
    http://Www.ashleyg.idlife.com

Leave a comment